Wednesday, 28 February 2007

Pay hike for PNG rugby

RUGBY Papua New Guinea’s allocation from the International Rugby Board (IRB) has been beefed up to GBP £70,000 (K406,000.00) for 2007.

That’s a further GBP £10,000 from the last two years allocation.

The pay hike is evidence the world governing body is beginning to recognise the good work of the PNGRFU.
PNG Rugby Football Union (PNGRFU) chief executive officer Peter Tsiamalili Jnr said while it had been tough, there had been steady progress since 2003.

“The road has been tough for the rugby office but at the end of the day it is paying dividends,” he said.
Tsiamalili Jnr made reference to the achievements of their key performance indicators that have impressed the IRB.
“We (PNGRFU) have achieved a pathway for our players to go to another level through the Super 4s.
“That also goes for referees and coaches as well,” he added.

This year will be the fourth year for the Super 4s national provincial championships.
“The Super 4s has proven to be the pinnacle for our growth and engine-room,” he added.
The IRB has also seen the growth in numbers from nine unions in 2003 to now 15 across the country.
“With the blooming out of women’s rugby and schoolboys breaking out slowly as well we can expect the trend to continue,” he added.

The increased regular visits of IRB development officers Peter Gofton (referee) and Nathan Holman (coaching) further supports the continued good work of the rugby office.

Gofton and Holman will be making their first visit tomorrow. They will reroute to Lae for the second annual PNGRFU presidents conference on Saturday.

Tsiamalili Jnr said the duo will run their ongoing workshops starting in Lae on Monday, February 18, then to Kokopo on Wednesday and Thursday and finally to Port Moresby on Friday and Saturday.

Those expected to at the presidents conference are: Joel Misirom (Alotau), Stalin Samabuka (Bougainville), Paul Johnson (Daru), Allan Toluana (East New Britain), Bernard Noibano (Goroka), Robert Tembon (Mount Hagen), Paul Joseph (Madang), Ian Leklek (Manus), Bau Waulas (New Ireland), Emmanuel Narokobi (Port Moresby), Winter Monagi (Oro), Freddie Matthies (West New Britain), Dickson Koyingu (Wewak), Reah Henao (Morobe) and Cyble Druma (PNG women).

PNG sevens coach Sailosi Druma

No comments: